The Starving Bulls**t Artist

Look! Click on stuff! Laugh! Cry! Help Me!

Does Anyone ‘Get’ David Lynch? March 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — madamebitters @ 5:15 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m asking an honest question here.

Does anyone ‘get’ David Lynch?

Because I sure as hell don’t. I’ll elaborate further in a minute, but before I do I gotta be sure you know who David Lynch is.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

For those of you who aren’t familiar with David Lynch, he’s the creator of the bizarre TV series Twin Peaks. It aired in the early 90’s and was about the murder of a girl named Laura Palmer.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

David Duchovney (he played FBI agent Mulder in The X-Files, he plays novelist Hank in Californication, and is currently in a rehab clinic that specializes in sex addiction) played the investigating detective– who also happened to be a cross-dresser.

While he’s probably best known as the creator of Twin Peaks, he has also directed a few films. A friend of mine burned me a copy of Blue Velvet, which is arguably his best known film. It stars Dennis Hopper who plays a sexual deviant.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Perhaps I should back up a bit….

This whole thing started when I took a quiz at a site called helloquizzy.com called Which director should film your life story? I took this quiz, answered the questions honestly and my result was… David Lynch.

A couple of days later I told my friend (who we’ll call Tasha) about the quiz and my results. She laughed for a very long time.  

Tasha, being the kind of friend that she is, wanted me to understand how funny the results of my quiz were. So she dropped off a burned copy of Blue Velvetat my house for my viewing pleasure the next day. 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I didn’t have anything better to do that afternoon so I popped it in the DVD player, kicked back and watched a film so odd that the adjective ‘odd’ doesn’t begin to convey it’s weirdness.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Now, I’m not going to go into the particulars of Blue Velvet because after watching the entire movie, I’m still not sure what it’s even about.

 Blue Velvet is an cinematic experience that mere words simply cannot describe. But I can share a few things without spoiling the plot– if it could even be called that.

  1. Blue Velvet looks like it had a budget of about $300. There are probably snuff films out there that cost more to make. In fact, the similarities between Blue Velvet and a snuff film are scary.
  2. The set and the people inthe film (like the extras and supporting cast) look like characters that should be in an SNL skit.
  3. Dennis Hopper’s character (and probably Dennis Hopper himself) is a sexual freak, a deviant of the worse kind. I’m no prude, but the stuff he did and said in Blue Velvet made me cringe in horror. I won’t elaborate because I may have flashbacks.

Now, this movie received rave reviews. I’m not really surprised. Blue Velvet is the sort weird independent film that frustrated movie critics jizz themselves over. I fucking hate movie critics for this very reason!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Anyway, my question still stands. Does anyone ‘get’ David Lynch? If you do, would you mind explaining him to me and a few million other people?

 

16 Responses to “Does Anyone ‘Get’ David Lynch?”

  1. jesusbudda Says:

    I ‘get’ him, MB

    Look, his films are never very enjoyable but what they do sometimes have is a weirdness that is memorable.
    He’s slightly different from other filmmakers for that reason – and thats why I like him.

    I wouldn’t rush out to the cinema to catch one of his films but I did like Blue Velvet and Twin Peaks.
    Erasurehead stuck in my memory purely for it’s strangeness set in an urban environment (which is unusual to see).
    Mullholland Drive had me pondering it’s ‘meaning’ for almost a week before I realized it was just random nonsense!

    But it’s the fact that David Lynch does some things that make you ‘think’ that makes him different.
    Doesn’t mean the films are good or whatever – but they have memorable moments.

    He ‘does’ weird for weirds sake and doesn’t apologize for it.
    Pretentious people love his stuff but his stuff is not pretentious.
    His films are full of references to the Wizard of Oz and midgets and stuff like that. He’s basically sticking his fingers up at those pretentious asshole critics without them realizing it!

    I think Martin Scorcese is a dick and the most overrated director in Hollywood for years, BTW.

  2. missfierce Says:

    I’m glad you get him. I’m sure a lot of people do, but I’m not one of them.

    I don’t like watching movies that make me feel sick on the inside. I want to be entertained, not feel shellshocked when the movie is over.

    And when I say entertained, I don’t necessarily mean just comedies. I like all sorts of movies. Just not movies like Blue Velvet.

    And I’d be pretty pissed off if I pondered a movie for over a week before realizing it meant absolutely nothing.

  3. Ram Venkatararam Says:

    Get him? No. I don’t get him. Eraserhead….??? No.

    But I like listening to people who do get him. Because I enjoy hearing people say things like “milieu” and “nuanced.” Of course, I don’t get them either.

  4. Hi, Ram! Welcome to The Starving Bulls**t Artist. Thanks for leaving a comment.

    As far as dealing with people who try to describe Lynch’s style, my advice is to simply smile and nod, Ram. Just smile and nod.

    Maybe throw in a noncommital statement, like “oh, I see”

    That’s all you can do.

    I’m so happy you dropped by! Bring some RamCola and Rambacco. I need to lose a couple pounds. 😀

  5. alantru Says:

    No, I don’ much get him either. Blue Velvet was a light enough comedy, but I felt most of the jokes fell flat. And where were the girls in skimpy bikinis? You can’t have a light hearted romp without them.

    Mr. Lynch did make one film that I really like. Mostly because it was unlike any of his others. It was called “The Straight Story” and it’s worth checking out.

    On another note, I am sorry that this reply of mine is neither witty nor funny. I promise to do better in the future.

    Oh, and Ram. Aren’t you on the lam?

  6. jesusbudda Says:

    If you like looking at scary midgets and creepy guys singing into torches then Lynch is your man!

    Twin Peaks was good entertainment, wasn’t it?
    Weird with some funny bits but also creepy. Thats gotta be a good thing.
    Imagine a David Lynch Super Sweet 16 episode?

    The teen girl gets given a car – wrapped in a dead body!

    She has a song sung to her in front of an audience of her pals by….a German Death Metal group with swords sticking out of their anus’!

    They end the night being chased through he streets by knife-wielding old homeless people and one legged prostitutes!

    Get me MTV on the phone now!!!!!

  7. missfierce Says:

    “Imagine a David Lynch Super Sweet 16 episode?

    The teen girl gets given a car – wrapped in a dead body!

    She has a song sung to her in front of an audience of her pals by….a German Death Metal group with swords sticking out of their anus’!

    They end the night being chased through he streets by knife-wielding old homeless people and one legged prostitutes!”

    –Yeah, I’d definately watch that!!!

    “On another note, I am sorry that this reply of mine is neither witty nor funny. I promise to do better in the future.”

    –It’s okay, alan. We all have ‘off’ days.

    Would you like a hug?

  8. alantru Says:

    Thanks for the sweet offer , I’ll try and walk it off. If that doesn’t work, I’ll be back for it.

    And for the record: You’re too kind to us all.

  9. womaninblack Says:

    Does this mean that D Lynch has lost the rights to filming your life story?
    Because if so, I’m going to have to let the dwarves at my agency down gently. They rely on him for film work.
    That said, I don’t get him either. The bit in Twin Peaks with the backwards speaking haunted my dreams for years.

  10. jesusbudda Says:

    So we’re agreed then? – I’ll wear the grey underwear.

    Glad thats sorted.

  11. To woman in black:

    after much deliberation, I’ve decided to go with Ed Wood to direct my life story. I’ll bet he could find a spot in the movie for your dwarves, though. I’m pretty sure he’s dead, but that shouldn’t make much difference. My second choice would be Russ Meyer. No place for dwarves there, I’m afraid.

    Thanks for checking out the starving bullshit artist and for leaving a comment! Hope you’ll drop by again soon.

    Jb:

    Is that some sort of weird Lynch reference? I’m confused. They won’t be gray if you bleach them once and a while!

    Again, always a pleasure jb!

  12. jesusbudda Says:

    @ MB: “Is that some sort of weird Lynch reference? I’m confused. ”

    – No. I just thought we’d decided which underwear I’d wear, thats all. Nothing wrong with that is there?
    Well, is there?

    This is a website about choosing underwear, isn’t it?

    Oh…..

    @MB: “They won’t be gray if you bleach them once and a while!

    Again, always a pleasure jb!”

    – The pleasures all mine, MB!

    You’ll be happy to know I’m wearing none today as a mark of solidarity with the people who can’t afford underwear.

    I suggest you do the same. Take off the bra toowhile your at it 😉

  13. “I suggest you do the same. Take off the bra too while your at it”

    –What makes you think I’m wearing one in the first place?

    Tsk, tsk; so presumptuous!

  14. David Lynch doesn’t ‘get’ David Lynch, so what chance do I have?

    I tried with Twin Peaks, but couldn’t turn the corner with it…I just, you know, didn’t get it.

    • First off, thank you for visiting me here at The Starving Bulls**t Artist, fundamentaljelly. And thank you for leaving a well thought out, reasonable comment, kind sir.

      It’s good to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t ‘get’ David Lynch– including Lynch himself, evidently!

      Anyway, I’m glad you dropped by. Don’t be a stranger!


Leave a Reply

